Breastfeeding

Lactation consultants, counselors and
breastfeeding support services at home

Brittany Sarah Photography

Brittany Sarah Photography

 
Alberta Independent Registered Lactation Consultants
www.ailc.ca
Shannon Bayer RN, IBCLC, RLC
Sndanforth@hotmail.com| 403-618-5326
www.entirelymom.com
Leah Cadieux IBCLC
ulactation@gmail.com| 780-299-9354
www.ailc.ca
Pam Davey BSc., IBCLC, CD(DONA)
birthingsinceforever@gmail.com | 780-554-8475
www.wix.com/birthing/sinceforever
Jenni L Duke PP IBCLC, RN, BSc, LLL Leader (Red Deer and Central Alberta)
comfortu@liva.ca| 403.596.3853
www.asnewbornbabes.jimdo.com
Krystal Hoople RN, BScN, IBCLC
NaturalConnections@shaw.ca | 780-907-3481
Kim Johnstone IBCLC
kim@rootsfamilyservices.com| 780-490-8902
http://www.ailc.ca
Fiona Lang-Sharpe IBCLC
fionalangsharpe@gmail.com | 780-886-6818
www.fionalangsharpe.com
Erie Melnychuk IBCLC
erie@edmontonibclc.ca| 780-887-1189
www.edmontonibclc.ca
Mimi Pendlebury IBCLC
mimi.pendlebury@gmail.com| 403-771-4770
www.ailc.ca
Christine Schubert IBCLC
christine@overthemoonls.com | 403-688-7955
overthemoonls.com
 
 Certified Lactation Counselors CLC
Arie Brentnall-Compton LE, CLC, CBE
arie@tadpoles.ca | 780-777-9525
Michelle Bressler, CLC
michelle@luciddream.ca | 780-919-6691
Lee-Ann Grenier LE, CBE, CLC, LLL Leader
lacgrenier@gmail.com | 780-571-4039
Nadia Houle BSc. (Kines.), R.Ac., CLC
info@womensbalancehealth.ca | 780919-6870
Taryn McLafferty
doulataryn@gmail.com | 780-717-3717
Stefanie McKinnon CD(DONA), PES, CLC
beautiful.beginnings.ca@gmail.com | 780-966-3828
http://www.beautiful-beginnings.ca/
Niko Palmer CD (DONA), PES, CLC
niko@blossomingbellies.ca | 780-965-6585
blossomingbellies.ca
Ashley Polimac CLC
ash.polimac@gmail.com | 780-236-3575
 
Certified Breastfeeding Educator
Susan Prendergast MN, RN, NP, CBE
info@ellithia.com| 780-293-6999
http://www.ellithia.com/
 
BScN: Bachelor of Science in Nursing
CBE: Certified Breastfeeding Educator
CD: Certified Doula
CLC: Certified Lactation Counselor
IBCLC: International Board of Certified Lactation Consultants
LE: Lactation Educator
LLL: La Leche League
PES: Placenta Encapsulation Specialist

RN: Registered Nurse

We want more lactation consultants who do house calls! We know that there may be many Lactation Consultants in hospital and clinical settings; however most mothers find it difficult to leave home when they have a newborn. They will delay accessing help because of it, which has an impact on her breastfeeding success. We encourage lactation consultants to go to homes and support new mothers within the first days of a baby’s birth.

There are a number of other professionals who can also support your breastfeeding journey without you needing to leave your home. Some Public Health Nurses are certified lactation consultants. You can call the Alberta Public Health line and ask for a nurse who has the IBCLC certification. They can then combine the postpartum home visit with breastfeeding support. Also many senior birth and postpartum doulas have taken breastfeeding courses and can provide a certain level of hands-on support and reassurance. Search for your local doula association website. It will have their names and contact info. La Leche League leaders (LLL) are enthusiastic women who have breastfed their children and are leaders in their community. They can be of great help. Give them a call.

Email bi_events@asac.ab.ca if you are a lactation consultant who does house calls and are an ASAC member (purchase your membership here).

 

Advertisements